top of page

  Whinfell's Class Books  

Autumn 1 - Around the World In 80 Days (by Jules Verne)

Around the World in Eighty Days  is a classic adventure novel. In the story, Phileas Fogg of London and his newly employed French valet Passepartout attempt to circumnavigate the world in 80 days on a £20,000 wager set by his friends at the Reform Club. Accompanied by Passepartout, he leaves London by train at 8:45 P.M. on Wednesday, October 2, 1872, and is due back at the Reform Club at the same time 80 days later, Saturday, December 21, 1872. Will he make it back in time to win the bet?

verne - 20000.jpg
verne - journney.jpg

Other books by Jules Verne:

Watch the trailer for the film:

Watch Michael Palin's own trip around the world in 80 days:


Autumn 2 - Freeze (by Chris Priestley)

When Maya and her classmates are asked to write a creepy story with a winter theme, they come up with some brilliant ideas. Rising floodwaters uncover long-buried bodies and ghostly children take to the ice on a frozen canal. But as each of the stories is read out in class, Maya grows more and more uncomfortable. She features in each of her friends' creepy tales and they start to feel a little too real. Finally, when a mysterious new girl stands up to read the last story of the day, the light outside dims and it starts to snow. The classroom starts to freeze but everyone is trapped. Can Maya stop the story before the nightmare comes true?


Other books by Chris Priestley:

Darwins Dragons.png

Spring 1 - Darwin's Dragons (by Lindsay Galvin)

The year is 1835. Charles Darwin, a young British naturalist, is exploring the remote Galapagos Islands during his voyage of discovery around the world. With him is Syms Covington who joined HMS Beagle as a cabin boy but is now Mr Darwin’s trusted assistant. When a fierce storm breaks, Syms finds himself thrown overboard and washed up on an unexplored, volcanic island. Thinking he just needs to survive long enough to be rescued, Syms is unprepared for the monstrous, screeching beast that swoops from the sky to attack him. Is he hallucinating or might this be a previously undocumented species? On an island with no fresh water and little food, he is likely to die before he can share any discovery with the rest of the world. 

Other Darwin books to read:

Darwin and Hooker.jpg
On the origin of Species.png
The Bagle Adventure.png

Spring 2 - Pig Heart Boy (by Malorie Blackman)

Cameron desperately needs a new heart when he is offered the opportunity to take part in a radical and controversial experiment involving the transplant of a pig's heart. While Cameron soon comes to terms with the idea, he finds the world around him less accepting.

Pig Heart.png

Summer 1 - Goodnight Mister Tom

Set during World War II, Goodnight Mister Tom features a boy abused at home in London who is evacuated to the country at the outbreak of the war. In the care of Mister Tom, an elderly recluse, he experiences a new life of loving and care.

Other WWII books to read:


Summer 2 - Wonder (by R. J. Palacio)

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. Wonder, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. 

Boy who stole.jpg
boy at the.jpg

Other books about being different:

bottom of page